No Contact(s)!

Pop pop pop – and my plans of bringing a twinkle to my eyes popped into thin air.

I went to see the oculist yesterday. I sat across the table waiting for him to finish his conversation over the phone. After a couple of minutes, he looked at me and smiled.

“Hi. I want to get contact lenses.” I began.
“Do you wear contacts at present?” He questioned. I already liked this doctor. He seemed so congenial.
“No, this will be the first time. I got my eyes tested last month” and I passed him the card holding my eyesight details.
“Why do you want to wear contacts if your power is so less?” he was waiting for my reply. I was crushed – what was he going to suggest?
“You do not depend on spectacles, do you?”
“No, I don’t depend on them but I end up wearing them throughout the day” I was determined to make him see my point “You see, being short sighted, I need them when I am outside and I spend 8-9 hours in front of the computer. I wear them almost all the time”

It did not help. He went on to explain how extended period of exposure to the computer would make wearing lenses all the more difficult for me and the worst thing is that he made sense. I turned around and looked pleadingly towards my mother. She was beaming. No one to support me. POP!

Here I am…back to my usual self. I guess I should be happy that my eyesight is not very bad, but I had my heart set on those optical plates.

Leave a Reply

