Feeling bookish today…

Reading is fun. I always regarded it as my most preferred pastime. However, when I think about my current reading habits, I realize reading isn’t a pastime anymore. That is, I no longer read to pass time. I make time to read.

When I pick up a book, I usually am unaware of the storyline. I am not the kind of person who watches movies after reading the Sunday review or reads a book after checking out the amazon.com review. Yes, I do pick up some books on recommendations but all I know is ‘ABC enjoyed reading this book’. Thanks to this tendency, I sometimes get stuck with complete trash. On the up side, when I chance upon a gem, I think of it as my own finding.

I can never finish some books. It bothers me and I pick them up again and yet again; then I give them away. The latest in the list is We the Living – Ayn Rand. Believe me, I tried very hard.

My pace of reading depends on the authors’ writing style. While reading someone like Wodehouse, whose every sentence is full of humor, I am very slow. I take my time and devour every word. Then there are some books that have a great story; I cannot wait to reach the end. However, after I finish a great book in a day or two, I get a void feeling. I feel that I am no longer a part of the world that the book had woven around me. This happens when I read Rowling. It also happens every time I read To Kill a Mockingbird – Harper Lee.

I do not have favorite authors. I have favorite books. There is no rule that says once a gripping author, always a gripping author. Well, I agree there are some truly talented ones like Blyton but Steel could never repeat The Promise and Seagal authored Only Love.

My current reading list comprises English August – Upamanyu Chatterjee, Bridget Jones’s Diary – Helen Fielding, and The Tao of Pooh – Benjamin Hoff. Come 2004, and I will treat myself to The Order of the Phoenix – JK Rowling.

Leave a Reply

