Nettle me so


'Tis but thy name that is my enemy;
Thou art thyself, though not a Montague.
What's Montague? it is nor hand, nor foot,
Nor arm, nor face, nor any other part
Belonging to a man. O, be some other name!
What's in a name? that which we call a rose
By any other name would smell as sweet;
So Romeo would, were he not Romeo call'd,
Retain that dear perfection which he owes
Without that title. Romeo, doff thy name,
And for that name which is no part of thee
Take all myself.

Ask me, What's in a name? Lots. When I hear a name, I make a mental image of the holder. The image I conjure may or may not match the real person, but I maintain that ones name should reflect ones character. Unfortunately, we have little control over our names. Well mostly. One could go ahead and get a name change done. However, by the time one realizes that one does not like being called ‘Randy’, the name already becomes the most integral part of ones identity.

At the same time, one has total control over their e-names. An e-name could be ones Web profile name, IM ID, e-mail ID, LJ user name, or any other nick that one uses over the Web. What fascinates me is that regardless of this complete control, most of us choose the most insane IDs.

Some people prefer it simple and use Anupma as their LJ ID, just because they are called Anupma. Others select most enchanting names like Pleiades. Many are innovative and give themselves names that leave the rest of us wondering. However, there are some who just have to end their IDs with two characters that I detest when put together. 4 and U.

By no means am I trying to say that I am the sensible one who selects the most sagacious e-names. My first ever e-mail ID was coolscorpio. However, if you send me a resume to refer to my HR manager and give CuteMandy2938 as you e-mail ID, stay assured that you will not get an interview call.

Coincidentally, I find some very appealing IDs in my friend’s list. My favorites are Sun Rays, Aimless Wanderer, Khushee, Mythrandyr, and The If Girl.
—-

Note: To break all contacts with me, first change your e-mail ID to end with 4U. Next, send me an e-mail asking to use this very ID to stay in touch. I promise, I will never bother you again.

Leave a Reply

