The Weekend Story

Who is the first person you think of in the morning?

This morning I woke up with a wide grin on my face. I had an early morning dream about Jack Jack – the cutest kid on the block. I have been searching far and wide for a decent Jack Jack toy, in vain. I have managed to find adorable action figures of Mr. Incredible, Dash, and Bud but am still hunting for you, Jack Jack.

How can you make me read about a historical revolution?

The best graphic novel I have read till date – Persepolis by Marjane Satrapi. She writes about Iran's revolution, conversion to an Islamic regime, and war with Iraq as seen by a child. The fascinating novel captures the essence of the revolution in an extremely unorthodox style. The fear, trauma, and uncertainty of daily life in Iran is presented as a heartbreaking memoir by Satrapi. She tells a story full of contradictions as she experienced life with her progressive activist parents and orthodox neighborhood. The best thing about this black-and-white graphic novel is its lighthearted treatment that makes this grave subject a poignant and yet fun read.

What do you do when your cricket team loses four matches (and hence, the series) in a row?

On my way home this afternoon, I saw those fanboys. They had donned blue Team India tees and draped tricolor scarves on their shoulders. Gloomy faces. At home, I was greeted by even gloomier faces. Uncle V had a thing or two to tell those 'hot-shots' who thought Saurav was the reason for India's poor performance. He claims this failure is a well-deserved tight slap on their ('hot-shots') faces. Gosh! Trust him to tweak things his way. Anyhow, I had to escape this madness and what is better than a mindless fun movie? I finally sat down to watch Chitty Chitty Bang Bang, a musical that made me laugh till my tummy hurt and eyes watered.

Tell me, if your last name was Scrumptious, what would you call your daughter?

But of course, Truly.

Yup, and if your daughter was called Truly Scrumptious, what would you do to earn your bread?

Make candies, what else?

That's Chitty Chitty Bang Bang for you.

Leave a Reply

