Let's List Books!

My list-o-mania is no secret and 's post, booked for life, prompted me to create my own book list. Is it strange that my present state of mind is euphoric?

1. What are some of your favourite books?

Pride and Prejudice – Jane Austen
Mistress of Spices – Chitra Banerjee Divakaruni
Stardust – Neil Gaiman
The Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy – Douglas Adams
To Kill a Mockingbird – Harper Lee
Persepolis – Marjane Satrapi
English, August – Upamanyu Chatterjee
Fagin the Jew – Will Eisner
To Sir with Love – E. R. Braithwaite

2. Who are some of your favourite authors?

Chitra Banerjee Divakaruni, Ruskin Bond, Nick Hornby, P.G. Wodehouse, R. K. Narayan, Jane Austen, Gabriel Garcia Marquez, Douglas Adams, Neil Gaiman

3. Name a book that changed your perspective in some way.

The Tao of Pooh – Benjamin Hoff, Rusty – Ruskin Bond, The Alchemist – Paulo Coelho

4. Name a book that you've read about a dozen times, and will probably read a dozen times more.

To Kill a Mockingbird – Harper Lee

5. Is there a book you make other people read, if you find out they haven't already?

To Kill a Mockingbird – Harper Lee and The Tao of Pooh – Benjamin Hoff

6. Got a book suggestion for me?

I think I have already suggested this one to you but in case you haven't still read it, The Bridge Across Forever – Richard Bach

7. Which are better, used books, or new?

New, definitely. Books are like babies, you may admire other person's but you snuggle to your own.

8. What are you currently reading?

The Vine of Desire – Chitra Banerjee Divakaruni and The Sandman, Preludes & Nocturnes – Neil Gaiman

9. What do you plan to read next

High Fidelity – Nick Hornby

10. Do you use a bookmark to keep your place, or use whatever's handy, or just make a mental note of what page/chapter you're on?

I always use a bookmark – always. In addition, if you don't use one, I am not lending my books to you. Sorry.

11. Do you ever highlight/underline passages in your books, or make notes in the margins?

Oh.My.God – NO. I have occasionally noted the page numbers of certain passages I thought I'd like to re-read, but using a pen on a book is a crime.

12. How many books do you buy in a month, on average?

Umm…two. And, I am not counting comics.

13. Do you have a library card?

Not anymore.

14. How many books do you borrow from the library in a month, on average?

None. For there is no library in close proximity. Yes, I live in Sin City.

15. Do you have any weird book habits? (Such as reading them only half-open to keep from cracking the spine, and things like that.)

I think most bibliophiles do not fold their books to prevent cracking the spine. I don't. I also tend to stack the book I have just finished (and liked), the book I am currently reading, and the book I plan to read next on my bedside table. Just in case, I want to re-read or pre-read something. =)

16. Three books that made you cry:

To Sir with Love – E. R. Braithwaite, Man, Woman, and Child – Erich Segal, and The Thorn Birds – Colleen McCullough

17. Three books that made you laugh:

Bridget Jones's Diary & The Edge of Reason – Helen Fielding, The Inscrutable Americans – Anurag Mathur, and About a Boy – Nick Hornby

18. Favourite genre:

This one's tricky. There is so much to read out there and I've read so little. I don't think I am qualified to answer this question. Instead, I can tell you which authors I like in a certain genre: fantasy (J.R.R Tolkien, J.K Rowling, Neil Gaiman) and humorous autobiographies (Ruskin Bond, James Harriot, Gerald Durrell)

Leave a Reply

