The Mid-of-June Post

WHERE I TRY NOT TO APOLOGIZE FOR MY ABSENCE

It is mid of June and I have not made a single post. Bad girl! So, before the eccentric feeling of obligation to the cyber world sets in and I start apologizing for my absence, let me take the corrective action.

The reason I did not make a post for so long is that there was nothing to write about. A quick look at the previous month's posts revealed that all I write about is the movies I have seen, the books I have read, and the movies I have seen. I have decided this post will be different.

WHERE I TELL YOU ABOUT MOVIES I HAVE NOT SEEN

Lots of people tell me that Bunty aur Babli is an out-an-out fun movie that I should have watched. A few say I am lucky to have escaped it. All women folk I am acquainted with, tell me that I must watch Parinita. But, I am not going to watch either of these movies.

Not that I do not want to but:

– My constant movie partner is on a hiatus. No Hindi movies for this person until the wounds inflicted by Nihal Singh of Jullendhur heal.

– Other friends who are interested in watching Hindi flicks are either busy getting married, or live in far flung places like Mumbai and Gurgaon.

– I am not going to buy DVDs of movies that I cannot watch more than once.

WHERE I WONDER WHY HAVE I STILL NOT READ DAN BROWN

I travel a minimum of three hours every day. To work and back. During these journeys, my books give me company. They not only help me utilize the travel-time but also prove to be excellent material for smalltalk with cab-mates. Delhi considers reading an awfully elite activity. My cab-mates think I am this sophisticated woman who only discusses thought-provoking matters. So, when people converse about books, the inevitable question comes up. “What was the last book that you read?” Polite that I am, I tried answering this question in the literal sense for the first few months. Now, I just wave the book in my hand in front of their face.

In the last five months, I have met five people who work in my company, live in the same area as I, work in a shift coinciding with mine, and have just finished reading The Da Vinci Code. Why on earth is the last book that everyone just read The Da Vinci Code? For some unfathomable reason it drives me crazy. Everybody who is remotely interested in books is reading The Da Vinci Code and hence, preventing me from picking it up. It has been over an year-and-a-half now.

I have this thing. If everybody who is anybody does something, I cannot bring myself to do it.

Phew! I have just succeeded in making a post without mentioning the recently watched movies and the recently read books. Hats off to me. And, if you are still reading this sad excuse of a post, hats off to you too.

Leave a Reply

