Memoir: Nine Years of Fellowship

There were days when you needed me and I was too self absorbed to notice. There were days that I made through just because you were around. And, there were days that we passed, lazing around, hoping for a miracle to happen.

friends forever

WHEN YOU HATED ME

Important exam tomorrow. You discover a few pages of the life-saving class notes missing from your register and you call me.
You: “I need your register for fifteen minutes to get a couple of pages photocopied.”
I: “But I am reading from the very same register right now!”

WHEN I HATED YOU

During the college trip. You spend the entire journey hanging around with the most happening girl of the gang. Ignoring me completely. We hardly talk. I sulk.

WHEN WE CROSSED THE LIMIT OF CHILDISHNESS

During the free hour between lectures. I hang around with the female versions of Tom, Dick, and Harry. You are jealous. I am glad.

WHEN YOU IRRITATED ME

Outside the college gate. You have a crush. People know. I do not.

WHEN I FLABBERGASTED YOU

By the lake. I tell you that there is this guy I like. You are stupefied. You never thought I was the dating kind. Right, neither did I.

WHEN I ADMIRED YOU

By the lake. You cry. I watch. You are a helpless little baby this moment, and the strongest woman I have ever seen the next moment.

WHEN I SPENT SLEEPLESS NIGHTS

Parents in America. You are alone and confused. You have a problem. I don't have a solution.

WHEN I REALIZED YOU WERE A FRIEND FOR KEEPS

I have a secret. A secret that I lied about for years. I gather the courage and tell you. You listen, you understand, you do not judge.

WHEN WE DISCOVERED A COMMON LOVE

Parents out. Cigarettes around. Just a kick out of doing something they forbade.

WHEN WE TALKED

In the park. In my room. In your room. By the lake. We talk. About friends. About your studies. About my job. About relationships that never seem to work out. About an exciting date. About families. About guilt. About dreams. About aspirations.

WHEN YOU SCARED ME

In your room. We have been down in the dumps and seen each other through it. But this time it is different. You scare me. I see all hope being lost. I see you crumble. And, then I see you rise, resurrect.

WHEN I TOLD YOU WHAT WERE TO BE

All over the place. I tell you I see your soul mate. You ask me to shut up. I tell you that your dream is going to come true. You refuse to listen. And then, you fall in love.

WHEN YOU HELPED ME SURVIVE

Over the phone. Mostly. You tell me to follow my heart. I am scared. You ask me to be brave. I cry. You cry with me. You make me believe in myself.

WHEN YOU ANGERED ME

Your room. Life is being its usual self. Things are tough. You are stupid. I should slap you. But instead, we sit together and search for the light at the other end of the tunnel. And, we find it.

WHEN YOU LENT YOUR SHOULDER

Every now and then. I need to vent. I need to cry. I need to crib. You let me.

The list can go on. It is not easy to capture nine years in one post. Dearest , here is wishing you a magnificent future, full of love and joy. You will be missed. A lot.

Leave a Reply

