Hyderabad Diaries – Chapter 2

I saw two different worlds come together and blend smoothly into the city called Hyderabad. My friend met me at Banjara Hills, the most happening place around, and then lugged me into an auto and took me to the old city. I am not going to comment on the old city, but please hear this loud and clear – I am NOT going there again. Yummy biryani and stuff notwithstanding!

Now, there are two ways of looking at Hyderabad:

Image hosted by Photobucket.com

The Choori Bazar next to Char Minar in the old city glitters and shines. Only if I could teleport myself from the city into a bangle shop!

Image hosted by Photobucket.com
Image hosted by Photobucket.com

I am told that Future-telling Parrots are common in Maharashtra and South India. But to me this was a sight straight out of an 80’s Hindi movie.

Image hosted by Photobucket.com

I am sorry, just could not resist!

Image hosted by Photobucket.com

He, I think, is a very angry young man. Not good with expressions though.

Image hosted by Photobucket.com

That, my dear people, is Miss. Katreena. And you thought I was kidding when I talked about clicking pictures of posters?

Image hosted by Photobucket.com

Did I ever tell you about my fascination for cups and glasses? I really like these teacups; Barista does not use these back home.

Image hosted by Photobucket.com

Hyderabad city does not have rickshaws but the old city does. They are dippy, they are tiny, and they are really high. Can someone tell me the logic behind these?

Image hosted by Photobucket.com

That’s Birla Mandir. A beautiful structure on a hill top that can be seen from various distant points in the city. The height ensures that there is always cool breeze flowing and the lake view from the top is breathtakingly beautiful. Only if they allowed cameras! What I found most interesting is that the structure is built along with the rocks. One can find huge protruding rocks next to the beautiful marble structure. This renders the temple its uniqueness.

Image hosted by Photobucket.com

Hussain Sagar Lake took my breath away. Well, you have to be any water body to do that, not much hard work required here. There were boats on which men and women in flashy dresses danced on tunes of Telugu and Hindi film music. I was more interested in the lake this time, maybe next time around.

Image hosted by Photobucket.com

This Buddha statue is right in the middle of the lake.

Image hosted by Photobucket.com

Char Minar is a pretty structure and I could have taken a better picture but it was not that nice a place to stand and experiment with photography. Did you know that there is a very famous Hindu temple right at the foot of this historical structure?

Image hosted by Photobucket.com

Salarjung Museum. No pictures allowed. More about my discovery in this museum soon.

Image hosted by Photobucket.com

Bright hanging lights at Hyderabad Central, the mall.

Disclaimer: Click with care. I do not have Adobe Photoshop handy.

One Response to “Hyderabad Diaries – Chapter 2”

  1. Prasoon Says:

    These posts have come up on the feed today but yes, lovely compilation about Hyd and the pics – the city is still the same I’ll tell you. A lovely mix of old and new – new flyovers, wide roads and old traffic and public and liveliness and all that 🙂

Leave a Reply

