Because it is my life…

What do you want from life?

In my opinion, this is a pseudo deep question. When I close my eyes and think about it, the first picture that comes to my mind is that of the Nescafe girl. The one I see on the Nescafe vending machine – curly hair, cheerful smile, hot cup of coffee.

Happiness and peace of mind. That is all I ask for. Not too complicated, is it?

free me

Of late, I have taken some decisions without consulting many and these decisions do not match with the general idea of a successful life. Why are you so rigid, Anupma? How can you say no to such an opportunity? I am not rigid, I have just made up my mind. And sometimes, opportunity lies in saying 'no'. You just have to figure out what works for you.

I have figured that living a life you want is possible. It is possible to be happy outside the boundaries the society has defined for us. There is something to be said about coming home to a warm smile and piping hot home cooked food, about sipping masala tea with your friend on a Saturday afternoon, about falling asleep with your book in the familiar comfort of your bed, about walking into a room full of smiling, friendly faces and cracking a bad joke every morning. I chose all this and more over what they call an opportunity.

The way I see it, it is the society that has rigid ideas. Let me take the example of my favorite topic – 'shoot me, I am single!' Society refuses to believe that a thirty something woman can be happy unless she is married. This high flying, free spirited woman with a great career is hiding her loneliness behind that matte makeup, they say. But what about the woman who finds herself caught in the web of a loveless marriage or, worse still, a hostile relationship? That's okay, life is not fair and one always has to work things out, they say. Hence, I rest my point that it is the society that refuses to budge.

Come to think of it, the solution is simple. All I need to do is to tune out toxic, close-minded people who spread nothing but negative energy. I refuse to measure the success rate of my life on their parameters. Is all.

Leave a Reply

