Recreating Magic

This kind of certainty comes but once in a lifetime.

When I first read The Bridges of Madison County by Robert James Waller, I thought that the magical web of emotions that Waller created should not be meddled with. And can they make a movie out of a book without monkeying around? Look at Message in a Bottle, for instance. Waller's book comprises substantive conversations and abstruse feelings not absorbing events. A book based on such poignant emotions cannot be turned into a two hour film, I maintained. Until this morning.

Hats off to Eastwood for recreating magic. In my life, the certainty came two times. First, when I read the book and then, when I watched the movie. Eastwood has successfully created glamor and passion between the elderly couple. One does not come across such nifty transformation of paper to celluloid every day. Meryl Streep is the Francesca in my head and no one could make a better Robert Kincaid than Clint Eastwood. Very importantly, the director has done a magnificent job of the scenes involving Francesca's children.

If the scene when Kincaid takes a turn from the traffic light affected you while reading the book, I assure you, you will need a tissue paper handy while watching the movie as well. So, if you have not watched the movie yet, go watch it. If you have not read the book, go read it.

Now that I have seen two splendid books made into equally splendid movies (remember Sin City?), my faith in movies is renewed. Maybe there are some more such combinations out there, waiting to be discovered by me. =)

Leave a Reply

