Glory and Trumpets for I Have an Idea

Wonder why I never thought of this before?!

While traveling to work and back, I do various things to keep myself occupied and to take comfort in the fact that these 3.5 – 4 hours are not entirely wasted. I usually read books or play games. But then there are days when I do not feel like doing either of those and that is when I listen to music or if it is a humanly hour, I call up friends. Today, however, I had an epiphany!

I can make LJ posts while on the road. Okay, this is not as tech savvy as it first sounds. I am not using any air card to connect to the Internet while on the go. Neither do I have a cool WiFi device to surf while on the ring road. (Actually, I do have a WiFi device but it is the ring road that is not WiFi enabled!) Nevertheless, I have a laptop that has word processor to enable me to type my posts and save them to be posted once I reach my destination. A simple solution to life’s complicated problems.

So no more complains about not getting enough time to post on LJ.

Regular movie/book post commences.

Chicks rock and so do chick flicks! I recently saw an interesting chick flick, The Holiday, starring Cameron Diaz, Kate Winslet, Jude Law, and Jack Black. It is a story about two girls who are going to rough patches in their lives. These strangers meet online while one is hunting for a place to holiday and swap houses, and hence life, for a couple of weeks. So the career-oriented, unmoved American woman finds herself in a cozy little cottage in a small English town, while the super-emotional English girl is in a luxurious mansion in LA. Little moments happen and happiness ensues. Not to say that this is a brilliant movie with a novel script or anything but it is a refreshing movie. Catch it if you can.

And if you are one of those people who feel sick at the thought of such mushy nonsense, go watch 300. The magnificent visuals, larger than life war sequences, the sudden unexpected wit, the whistle-worthy dialogues, and unending supply of gore is sure to give you a high. It did to me. I am told it lacks in certain areas as an adapted film but to understand that I must read the graphic novel, which has been procured and shall be read.

Talking of procuring graphic novels, I bought all parts of Samurai Executioner off people. Yes, not off a person but off people. Just having all 10 books stacked on my shelf is a wonderful feeling. It is strange how much one needs to hunt for books sometime. I read the first Samurai Executioner book around a year ago and have been looking for the rest since then. Have hunted in Delhi, Gurgaon, and Bangalore in vain and have been thinking of buying it online. Only the shipping cost keeps me from it. Recently, I have been hunting for Fragile Things by Gaiman. I am sure I saw the hardcover edition in one of the bookshops on a day when I was completely broke and waiting for paperback made complete sense then. But now that I am ready to buy the hardcover, it is nowhere to be found. When it comes to Indian market, Gaiman’s books are like Johnny Depp’s movies; here today, gone tomorrow.

And with that I shall go back to (re-)reading my book, which by the way happens to be Fellowship of the Ring and has become far more interesting after I saw the movies. Ta.

Leave a Reply

