The City of Heels

While I am no Carrie Bradshaw, I am still a girl; and like all normal girls, I too love my shoes. However, being a big supporter of comfortable wear, I usually limit my heels to special occasions when there is limited walking.

Singaporean chicks, however, do not agree with me. They wear their heels everywhere, from grocery stores to shopping malls, from food courts to fancy cafés, from metro to street shopping, from work to stroll by the riverbank. Fascinated I watched, wondering how their dainty feet endured so much of high-heel walking. Then I noticed!

It is a perfect example of “where there is a will…” Besides using that comfortable gel padding available at all general stores to stuff beside your toes or under your heel, there is also an easier and inexpensive way out. You buy shoes one size bigger! Yes. So, the back of your foot never touches the edge of the shoe, which when worn with heels is the biggest trouble maker, and you never get shoe bites! Weird but marvelous.

Leave a Reply

