Merry 2009 and Other Random News

Joy to the world for the days of endless boredom and monotonous web browsing are over. I am back after a short break. Alright, so you were not really dead with boredom in the past fortnight but you did miss me, right? Come on, tell me that you came here looking for my endlessly entertaining and hugely mirthful posts. Come on, own up! I am running out of adjectives here.

So I went back home to Delhi to ring in the new year with friends, family, and fog. I came face to face with the latter more often than the former two. I also attended a fun wedding of a friend and felt mildly cheated when it ended up being held in Zirakh Pur instead of Chandigarh, as was being promised for the past one year. But there was ample food, so I forgive the newly weds. Oh and the bride bought me a pretty black bag while she was honeymooning here in Singapore, so I forgive her some more.

Going back to Delhi is always brilliant but of late, I find myself being disillusioned by one thing or the other. First, they went ahead and shut or moved or rebuilt each of my favorite restaurants and killed my memories of my first date, my second first date, and my first drinking adventure with a girl pal. Then, they let my cool hangout from the dating days crumble into a slow miserable death. I was hugely saddened on seeing the arcade where I went almost every second weekend for three long years, traveling for close to an hour. 

But not all changes are in the wrong direction. This other area, which used to be popular for Punjabi boys driving around in their cars with loud music and boxes of KFC has now turned into a shopper’s hub. With four to five malls, movie halls, branded stores, and restaurants in that area – I ended up going there thrice in ten days.

Going back after seven months has made me realize that one has to learn to accept the changes. Memories are to be cherished but if everything remained the same forever, life would be boring. Maybe. Definitely, maybe.

2 Responses to “Merry 2009 and Other Random News”

  1. This other area, which used to be popular for Punjabi boys driving around in their cars with loud music and boxes of KFC has now turned into a shopper’s hub.
    Distt. Center?

  2. Nope, Rajauri Garden. In fact, District Center is the place that has gone to the dogs and I fail to see what is the reason behind it. You cannot imagine yourself standing outside Satyam Cineplex and waiting for a friend anymore.

Leave a Reply

