Nick and Norah’s Infinite Playlist

Maybe it is because I have been watching terrible movies for the past few days and making uninspiring posts about them, but I really enjoyed watching “Nick and Norah’s Infinite Playlist.”

Nick and Norah is a fluffy film targeted mainly at the American teens but it has the charm and warmth to make almost anyone sit through it without demanding anything from one. Although no earth shattering cinema this, but when you sit down to watch a high school/teen comedy, your expectations are fairly low and in that area, the movie pleasantly surprised me.

Since the movie has the words infinite playlist in its title, I shall discuss the music first. I hardly knew any track in this movie but each one of them was fantastic. The soundtrack would probably fit in the Indie music genre, and most numbers were by local NY bands, pretty cool, I think. In a nutshell, this is a playlist that I definitely want on my iPod.

The screenplay of the film impressed me as well. It is a simple story but the humor is extremely understated; there were dialogues that made me laugh out loud and then there was gross comedy with the chewing gum that made me want to puke, but yes, even that was done brilliantly. The movie revolves around the teen-aged boy (Michael Cera), who is smitten by his cheating girlfriend and obsessively makes mixed CDs for her. Those CDs are brilliant but unappreciated by the hot girl who regularly dumps them. Norah (Kat Dennings) picks up those CDs and enjoys them although she has never met Nick. And then she sees him playing in his all gay band, where he is the only non-gay member.

The movie mostly works because of the actors and their expressive characters. Although Cera has been seen in similar roles many times before, he does do a convincing job of playing a vulnerable teen again. The chemistry between the two leads and even between the members of the band worked beautifully for me. And I loved Dennings too, she plays the sassy yet uncertain chick to the tee.  I have to mention that character Caroline (Ari Graynor), which disgusted me so much that I have to say that Graynor is a good actor.

Yup, so overall a lighthearted, fun film that I recommend you watch on a lazy Saturday afternoon. And when you do, please tell me if you love the chewing gum as much as these kids? I mean, really!!

2 Responses to “Nick and Norah’s Infinite Playlist”

  1. bhajifried Says:

    I liked this movie too. Good fun, and indie music. I was so kicked that I recognised a grand total of ONE track in the movie!

  2. bhajifried Says:

    oh, in case you’re wondering which of the three crooks this is…this is the other nablomo-er.

Leave a Reply

