who jinxed my films!

For the past one month or so, I have been stuck in a bad-Hindi-film-rut. It started with the Salman Khan starer Wanted, which I watched because it was a remake of a highly acclaimed Telugu film that I have unable to catch. Next was All the Best, for which I have no excuse. I went to watch a Fardeen Khan starer, I only have myself to blame. And then, this afternoon, I spent $31 watching another poorly made film, Ajab Prem Ki Gajab Kahani.

There is nothing gajab about the story at all. It is the same old run of the mill love story where the girl only realizes who her true love is after donning her wedding gown (a shimmery red and silver lehnga in this case) that has been paid for by a rich guy who does not really appreciate her. I am more than a little disappointed in Raj Kumar Santoshi for making such a disconnected film. The films is fully of clichés and in-your-face references to everything from dad Rishi Kapoor’s super hit songs to the boyfriend Salman Khan and his own last super hit comedy.

The movie tries hard to be Andaz Apna Apna and fails miserably, but there are some truly fantastic scenes in the film, but sadly they do not connect. So, it is just like watching a standup comedy show where one joke in every five minutes is hilarious but the next one instantly kills your mood. I was rolling on the floor when Smita Jaykar flirts with her husband in an effort to delay him from walking into the bathroom, where she is hiding Katreena Kaif. In another scene, Katrina Kaif surprised me with her adorable expressions as she tries to woo Smita Jaykar into giving her shelter. So, a couple of funny scenes is about all the film has to its credit, and then again, there is Ranbir Kapoor.

The boy is terrific! I do not remember the last time I saw a new bollywood actor with comparable charisma. He is a whole lot of fun to watch in the comic scenes, his comic timing makes him look like an Akshay Kumar waiting to happen and then, his charm and screen presence reminds me of Shahrukh Khan in the late ’90s, when you could not help but look at only him as soon as he walked in to the frame. Ranbir is all that and then a little bit more. However, seeing the kind of movies he gets to do, I am sure he still has a long way to go before I can tweet the link to this post and boast to my friends, “See, I always knew he would make it big.”

Leave a Reply

