The Thin Red Line

There is a very thin line between adoring a public figure and being a fan of their work. Often most of us, including yours truly, tend to forget this and make statements like “I love Johnny Depp” and “I worship Neil Gaiman.” While the fact of the matter is that one loves their movies and books. If by some inconceivable turn of events, I found myself arrested on an island with only Madhuri Dixit (my childhood heroine!) for company, there is a very high chance that I may get awfully bored and nettled. For I may know a lot about the Nishas and the Mohinis, I know zilch about the actor herself. But there is a flip side too.

Just as we love the celebrities for their work, we also judge their work based on whatever little we know of their personal life. I know a dozen aunties who stopped liking Aamir Khan the minute he divorced his wife. However, this was a comparatively small flaw that people easily forgot and hence, forgave. But there are people with slightly more complicated lives; my two personal peeves are the following:

The Magical Movie Maker, Woody Allen: Not so long ago, I watched a marvelous movie called Match Point, and that is how I discovered the world of fantastic Woody Allen films. I have seen many since and whenever I see something like Melinda and Melinda, there is a Vicky Cristina Barcelona to cancel it out. So basically, I am a fan of his work and will watch anything he makes at least once. Even his poor works are a fun onetime watch. However, whenever I read anything about his personal endeavors and his affair with his 14-years old step daughter, I stop to think. Adultery is a subject that I feel very strongly about, and this one comes with a twist of lemon on top. It disgusts me, but does this mean I should stop watching his films?

My Personal Storyteller, Enid Blyton: Like millions of other kids around the world, I have grown up with Enid Blyton. I knew her stories and loved her characters before I could read. And the reason I read fairytales for less than a year is that I graduated to the secret sevens and the famous fives a bit too early. The reason I had not read a romance novel until I got to college is that it took me a long time to get over the five findouters. I would happily re-read them when the pages of The Fountain Head grew too heavy for my teenaged brain. However, it was only a long time after I outgrew Blyton that I read about her personal life and being a callous mother. The debates on this subject are never ending, and regardless of which I side I may take, there is no way Blyton’s stories can be undone from my life. I owe her my most precious hobby, the one that gets me through stressful days.

I may be able to disregard Allen’s movies but I can never forget what Blyton’s work has meant for me. It irks me a lot when people argue with me over this topic. Don’t we always advise our friends to keep their personal and professional lives separate? Then, why can we not do the same with the public figures?

One Response to “The Thin Red Line”

  1. A great post, annie. I am reading all of them. Let me imagine myself stuck on an island with kareena!

Leave a Reply

