The love song

I possess absolutely no quality that can make my Punjabi clan proud of me and therefore, even they refuse to treat me as a regular Punju Kudi. I have always been the one who’d wear a Mallu saree to the grand mundan ceremony held in Karol Bagh, if you know what I mean. I did not speak my mother tongue till the age of ten, and whatever little Punjabi I can speak now is because I had no choice but to let it seep into my brain while conversing with my paternal grandma. The longest time I have spent in the state of Punjab is twelve hours while in transit. Not that I am particularly proud of any of these things or made any choice regarding this intentionally, this is how it turned out to be.

I am what true blue Punjabis consider a fake model corrupted by Delhi and its refugee culture. J

Why am I telling you all this? I am trying to build the premise (vague as it may seem!) to introduce my all time favorite romantic song. I grew up on Bollywood music and then seamlessly graduated to American pop scene like the rest of India in the late ’80s and ’90s. Of course, I have scores of favorite songs from that era in both Hindi and English, with an occasional incomprehensible Spanish melody thrown in. Though most favorite songs fade with time some stay on with you forever and then comes this one song which undisputedly overthrows all of the past ones, and holds the power of winning over the future ones too.

It happened on one fair morning of 2005. I sat in my office bus, absorbed in my book with the radio playing in the background. I caught the strains of the song somewhere midway and tried to pay attention there on but failed to catch most words thanks to the loud traffic sounds that are typical of a weekday morning on NH8.

Later in the day, I asked people about this new surprisingly melodious song I had heard. I think a week or so passed before I could hear the song again. This time I heard it in my sanctuary, my bedroom (which is my favoritest place in the whole wide world and can be found in Delhi, FYI only) and paid attention to the lyrics. For those three minutes or so, the song transported me into a different land and it left me feeling in love.

Now how often do you hear a song that makes you feel in love? Not with a person but just plainly in love. The song still holds magic for me. The words are most soulful, the music harmonious, and this song speaks to me.

It makes me think that I have a rustic Punjabi somewhere within me, because even though Rabbi Shergill is talented and has brilliant vocal cords, he does have many counterparts in the Hindi and English scene. But there is nothing comparable to the romance I feel in this song.

2 Responses to “The love song”

  1. I was hooked onto this song for the longest time as well 🙂

  2. I LOVE that song! And yes, just discovered your wonderful blog! 🙂

Leave a Reply

