Copycats and Heartbreaks

It is only a child who never thinks of the happy times gone past. Soon as you exit your teens, you start missing little moments of your yesteryear. However much the wise men and women might preach about living in the present, all of us relive our past at varying extents. The fantastic holiday you took with your friends from school, that howling football match where you scored three goals, that sweet film that made you fall in love with cinema.

The film that made me fall in love with Bollywood was Qayamat Se Qayamat Tak, and I think I have a complete post dedicated to it somewhere here. My love for this movie can be proved on Google too. If you search for the name of this film + sunshin3girl, I guarantee genuine results (all leading back here, so no need to try but you get my point, right?) Regardless of my knowing better, I re-watched this film recently and was elated to find out that I love it even now unlike my other childhood favorites (Maine Pyar Kiya tops the list) that make me roll on the floor holding my tummy.

However, this morning my husband sent me a YouTube link that broke my heart into a million tiny pieces. Here, see for yourself.

Now, copying music is not new to Bollywood, and the shock value of discovering that the peppy number from the new film is a copy of your favorite Cliff Richards song is zero these days. So much so, a musician duo went ahead and copied the theme of The Godfather, and actually succeeded in making a crappy romantic song out of it. Some achievement, if you ask me. And every time I read Rajesh Roshan’s name on a movie poster, I hit Google/You Tube to find out his inspiration. Did you know we even have Hindi film songs that are a direct lift of Mozart’s Symphony No. 40 and Beethoven’s Fur Elise? Therefore, I cannot claim that I was shocked by the revelation that song(s) of my favorite film were direct lifts from the world music. Nevertheless, the “Firsts” are always sacred. Considering QSQT was my first, its music has been very special to me as well. Thus, heartbreak.

I truly do understand the need and importance of inspiration. Even as a mere blogger, I need to read other blogs, books, articles in order to continue writing. And sometimes I do come across something so brilliant that I cannot help but create something of my own which is completely shadowed by the original piece. So then, what do I do? I do not publish it. Nope, I do not publish even on this little blog of mine, because it is WRONG. Like when I read Diana Wynne Jones’ Howl’s Moving Castle sometime last year, I had this overpowering urge to write fantasy and I did just that. I wrote a tale with my own story and characters but even as I wrote it I could see it was living and breathing in the world created by Diana Wynne Jones. Now, I could have assumed that if I posted that tale on this blog, the chances of any of my few readers making the link were fairly slim (which I believe would be an accurate assumption) but I decided to not do so. I did not even give it to my husband to read it, who would have not even judged me for it. Note that I am not an uncorrupted girl who has never lied or cheated in her entire life. I am as flawed as any average Joe, but still there are some things that simply lack common sense. If I copy La Bamba and sell it as my own, there is no way I will not be laughed at. What infuriates me is that the music directors believe that they are the only ones who have ever heard the music of ABBA and Simon & Garfunkel. Even in the age when there are tons of web sites dedicated to listing the copy cats, they choose to blindfold themselves and get inspired one more time!

It hurts me more to find out about an old song than the one that just came out. It is just a rant, of course. It does not really matter to me personally if you copy a song, but over the years our heritage will deteriorate, and the classics will become meaningless. So I tell you that Jatin-Lalit copied “Janam Suno Hum Tum Pe Marte Hain” from Paul Anka’s “Bring the Wine”, and you will concentrate and nod. But what will you do if I tell you that O. P. Nayyar copied “Ae Dil Hai Mushkil” from Oh My Darling Clementine or that R.D Burman copied “Mehbooba Mehbooba” from Demis Roussos’ Say You Love Me?

One Response to “Copycats and Heartbreaks”

  1. I see your point….

Leave a Reply

