Little Bee

I have not read a bad book in a while. Is this not the most wonderful thing a bibliophile could say? Well, I am lucky enough to be saying that. However, it has been a long-long time since I fell in love with the book from the first paragraph (mind you, not chapter or page) itself. I remember the first time it ever happened to me was when I first read “Love Story” by Eric Segal back in school. It happens sometimes; once every fifty or so books.

It happened again, today. With Chris Cleave‘s Little Bee. I want to describe my feelings on reading the first paragraph of the book, but I am unable to do justice. So I will just type the excerpt out.

“Most days I wish I was a British pound coin instead of an African girl. Everyone would be pleased to see me coming. Maybe I would visit with you for the weekend and then suddenly, because I am fickle like that, I would visit with the man from the corner shop instead – but you would not be sad because you would be eating a cinnamon bun, or drinking cold Coca-Cola from the can, and you would never think of me again. We would be happy, like lovers who met on a holiday and forgot each other’s names.”

I am on page 67 now, and the promise of the first paragaprh has been duly kept.

3 Responses to “Little Bee”

  1. Wow. I like the excerpt too. Is it a fat book?

  2. aradhana Says:

    🙂 sounds promising…will grab this one soon….

Leave a Reply

