Just a little something

Now that my Project 365 has successfully ended, and I have proven to myself that I can stick to my projects, I am embarking on a new one. This one is wee-bit tougher than the previous, I am completely clueless, yet determined.

I am teaching myself to speak, read, and write (also understand!!) Korean.

Interestingly, learning to read and write alphabet was much easier than I had expected. I can decipher the script, slowly read and write, but what I cannot do is tell the meaning of the words. Sigh.

Thinking back, I realize that I have always been able to speak a language decently well before I have tried to learn its grammar or script. (This holds true for the sum total of 2.5 languages that I know.) As a result, I am confused about how to go about learning Korean. I am currently teaching myself grammar, script, and common words and phrases all at once.

It would be wonderful if anyone reading this has an idea about what is the best way to learn a foreign language. I will highly appreciate any suggestion that you may have. Currently, I do not have the bandwidth to join professional classes; I shall do that sometime.

Of course, in the fantastical world, fifteen different and extremely helpful (and bored!) Korean people will read this post and bombard my mailbox with great suggestions and offers to teach me. 🙂

Until then, I shall continue in my amateur style.

8 Responses to “Just a little something”

  1. rechristened Says:

    Have you tried online resources?
    I learned a bit of French from the BBC Languages site. But they don’t seem to offer Korean.

    I Googled and found these:
    http://www.mylanguageexchange.com/learn/korean.asp
    http://www.learnkorean.com/home/index.asp
    http://www.learn-korean.net/

    Hope these help somewhat.

    • sunshin3girl Says:

      Thanks for the links, Mala. I have been reading off the web mostly. But the language exchange link you found can be really helpful. I am gonna give it a shot.

  2. Off the top of my head, I’d say watch your Korean dramas with English subtitles, but go really slow to get the meaning of each word. Or maybe it’ll take a while to get to that stage?
    Good luck with it.
    And congrats on project 365! Awesome 🙂

    • sunshin3girl Says:

      Hehe. How do you think I got interested in the language, buddy? It was watching all those Kdramas that did this to me. 😀

  3. I know one word in Korean. Mandu for dimsum. 😀

    • sunshin3girl Says:

      Hee. See, it is all about knowing the right word in every language and you seem to be doing a good job. You’ll never go hungry. 🙂

  4. Just came across your blog…

    Go here:
    http://arts.monash.edu.au/korean/klec/textbooks.php

    They have a textbook that is free to download. It was designed to use in a classroom situ, but the dialogues and some of the exercises are still useful.
    Just beware that a lot of the phrases are written informally.

    Hope this helps.

    Good luck!

    • sunshin3girl Says:

      Thanks so much!! The resources look absolutely wonderful. What’s more is that they are under creative common licensing.

      감사합니다.

Leave a Reply

