A Not So Private Rant

Just like most other people of my generation, I took to the Internet like fish to water. Love happened when I started blogging in 2002 and then, there was no looking back. A lot of things have changed since then: digital photos became a way of life, social networks flourished, and I, just like millions of others, smoothly fell into the trap of revealing too much.

Although many of my ex-colleagues who read my blog now say that I am a different person on and off the Internet, but the fact remains that if you make the effort to be on my facebook friends list, follow my flickr and twitter stream, read my blog, you will know 70% of whatever there is to know about me. I always thought who’d care to make all that effort? However, the effectiveness of Google search means that all it takes is five minutes and half-decent search skills.

In the past couple of months, I have been a little careful, what with Google’s flop Buzz and Facebook’s longer-than-the-constitution privacy policy. I read about things, and discussed with friends but a seemingly hilarious mail that I received yesterday got me thinking. The mail was preceded by several requests to be added on my Google Talk list. First, the mail:

Hai Dear

How Are you I am very impres to you Becouse your name is ….. ANUPMA……….nice name ……can you friend sp me

I laughed so hard that I fell off my chair and then quickly forwarded it to friends to share some more laughs. Mirth pursued until one of them pointed out that this mail had not come via a social network, but as a direct mail to my primary email ID. Thus began my hunt for the public listing of my email ID. I checked everywhere – Live Journal, Facebook, Flickr, Twitter, so on and so forth. In the end, it was discovered that this person has been continuously commenting on the one and only buzz that I made the mistake of putting out in the universe on the day of release of the strangeness called Buzz. But, I clearly remember disabling Buzz?!

It is immensely fascinating how convoluted is the process of deleting ones account off any of these services.

So the evilness of Facebook is such that while my private photos maybe hidden from my friends, they are available to the advertisers and such! I am gravely disappointed with Facebook. It had become a place that kept me up to date about faraway friends and family; it let me have a peep into the party my friend threw last night on the other side of the globe. I could see the newborn baby of a friend I had not met in five years. I could rediscover long lost friends. And just like everything that is too good to be true, it wasn’t. It was all a façade and now, I am stuck with it.

3 Responses to “A Not So Private Rant”

  1. The last para resonates precisely what I’ve been feeling the last few days. I don’t really know…I mean I love sharing a certain aspect about me there…and now like you say…just stuck with it. 😦

  2. rechristened Says:

    Every day I log on to Facebook wanting to delete the account, and end up updating my status instead. Maybe one of these days…it’s horrible.

Leave a Reply

