My Unhappening Life

This post is nothing but a series of discarded tweets.

It is Friday night, and I was the second last person to leave the office. As I hailed the cab, I checked with the usuals about there whereabouts only to realize that everyone had something or the other on. Including the guy who swore in front of the sacred fire to always be on my side.

So I came home. The taxi uncle who drove me home was very loud and very Chinese. While I sat back and closed my eyes to enjoy the Chinese music blaring from his radio, he made conversation. He asked me if I am a Punjabi. That was just the start.

I dined on a pack of Wai Wai noodles. The first ever instant noodles that I had tasted in my life at the age of 4 were Wai Wai; so I got all nostalgic. Over this nostalgia I remembered that I have not studied for my French class tomorrow (yes, French not Korean. How did that happen you ask? I will tell you the boring story some other day. Ok? Ok.)

So I walked down with my macbook and my French book to the nearest hangout, ordered myself a glass of red, and tried to read some French. In between the bizarre pronunciations and sips of wine, I noticed a tall white guy (American would be a fair guess) trying to catch my eye, waving and all. I ignored and concentrated on my screen. After about fifteen minutes, my phone rang. It was mum. While I was giving her a daily update of my exciting life, I heard someone speak into my ear!

The white guy was saying “I did not realize you were on the phone.” He was also peering into my screen. In between mum’s story, the loud music, French verbs, it took me a good thirty seconds to figure out what had just happened. I finished my wine, and walked out.

Why? Because I am used to dealing with men who want to make fraanship. I do not know what to do in a pub-situation!

I walked back home.

On my way up to my apartment, I saw the nice young lady who lives on the floor below cooking in the nude.

That is when I decided to call it a day. Hope your Friday was happier.

2 Responses to “My Unhappening Life”

  1. LMAO!!! We need to talk 😀

  2. rechristened Says:

    😛 “Unhappening”, indeed!

    BTW, love your template!!

Leave a Reply

