Of Tsukiji and Odd Old Men

It was a chilly Tokyo morning when a bunch of us set out to the Tsukiji fish market. Gloved hands shoved deep in pockets, blue lipped, we all walked through the street lined with pickle vendors and sushi restaurants until we reached the market.

Utterly fascinated by the mechanical cars being used by the workers to carry the stock and themselves around, we dodged and walked in between the stalls of fish and sea food so fresh that it did not smell one bit.

That day, my myth of stinking fish markets was busted. It is only the not so fresh fish places that smell. I can never be sure how human beings (include yours truly) be a lover of both food and animals at the same time. We walked around taking in the sights of mammoth fish and fresh oysters and such. I was particularly fascinated by the prawns, pink and crunchy shelled.

After about twenty minutes of touristy ogling, I decided to step out of the way of the daily business. A friend wanted to take some photos, and the others followed him back into the labyrinth of fish stalls.

I stood at the corner of the busy street, watching men buzzing around in their cute mechanical cars. As I concentrated on blowing puffy breath into the cold morning, I felt someone pinch my butt. On reflex, I turned around ready to shout and scream. Right behind me stood a middle aged worker, with a bottle of local wine in one hand. With other hand he pointed at me and giggled with glee.

I mean, I am from New Delhi! I thought I had experienced all sorts of eve teasing invented in the world, or at least in Asia considering how the word is Asian. Shock overshadowed my anger, and I stepped away. By the time, the others got back, shock had given way to amusement and now, I had a Japanese story to tell.

I would have passed that drunken worker as an oddity but the next day, my friend got pointed and smiled at by some old man at the metro station. Who said pestering needs a language, huh?

One Response to “Of Tsukiji and Odd Old Men”

  1. […] of fish and sea food so fresh that it did not smell one bit. … … Read more here: Of Tsukiji and Odd Old Men « fables ← Car Express News: Rome May 11, 2011 earthquake: the cars leaving […]

Leave a Reply

