In which we return

So this has been the longest break from blogging, I suppose. And this is the reason for it:

So while there was much to say and I was flummoxed at every step, which would have made entertaining posts but only for another mothers, so I refrained. Also, I lack the wit that makes one a bearable mom blogger.

Now that the announcement is out of the way, let’s try to get back to normal things…like films. So due to the aforementioned reason, I have had many hours of being a couch potato and I have utilized it fully by watching many fantastic films, but there were times when I fell into the trap of nostalgia and ended up watching some of my *so-called* favorites from the ’90s. Or rather, I tried to watch them.

Now I have loved the Bollywood of ’90s but having re-watched some films, I suppose it would be more accurate to say that in the ’90s I started to enjoy Hindi films. For it shames me to say that as a sixth grader, I had loved the film Dil, for it is terrible. The humor, the drama, the story…everything is derogatory to women, to audience, and to the art of cinema in general. Regardless of starring my ever favorite Madhuri Dixit and the supposedly intelligent actor Aamir Khan, the movie is crap. Maybe it were mistakes like these that made him intelligent.

But more surprising was re-watching an old ’70s film Chhoti Si Baat, which was still entertaining and way better than the earlier mentioned film, but I found that I was looking at the film in a new light. The acting is impressive, the story simple but fun, but the whole idea that men get trained to impress a girl, and win her over seems quite odd. The movie tries to redeem itself in the end by taking the path of sincere love, but it is hard to ignore the fact that it earlier professed that eating with chopsticks and making another man look dumb will impress a girl.

Well, after such experiences I have resolved to stay away from my childhood favorites, for they maybe truly terrible but they are wonderful in my memory. On the other hand, I am saved from embarrassing myself by ever mentioning to my boy that I liked a film called Dil.

2 Responses to “In which we return”

  1. i used to follow u on livejournal… today i logged in there after like 4 years, and got this link.. life has certainly moved on.. congratulations on your baby boy and i am pleasantly surprised by some food recipes you have posted.. :).. Good luck

    • sunshin3girl Says:

      Ha! I can imagine the shock. Four years ago, I cribbed about burning popcorn and boyfriend blues. Great to have you back. 🙂

Leave a Reply

